What are the 12 Main Sivananda Yoga Asanas?

Eliza Blooms

What are the 12 Main Sivananda Yoga Asanas?

In Sivananda yoga, a subtype of yoga developed from Hatha yoga, there are 12 core poses that the series centers around. Though in traditional Sivananda classes these poses are practised in a set sequence as outlined below, these main yoga asanas (or postures) are popular among many types of yoga, especially hatha yoga.

The core concept of these 12 main yoga asanas is that they combine, together with deep breathing exercises and deep relaxation, to offer spiritual growth alongside physical and mental wellbeing. Whether you want to practise Sivananda yoga in your own time, or develop your Hatha yoga practice by working on these core asanas, this comprehensive guide will take you through each of the 12 asanas and how to utilise them in your yoga practice.

You Might Like: Childhood Trauma, Spirituality and the Human Condition

1. Headstand (Sirsasana)


View original post 1,741 more words

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s